PC to Mac IV: Mega print server fail, woes multiplying

I received my TrendNet print server today and tried installing it.  Of course, it didn’t work.  Even after all my investigating, I did not notice that the software included worked only with x32 bit systems…not my x64 Windows 7.  I discovered this only after calling tech support.  Thankfully I had purchased this item online from Wal-Mart, so back in the box it went.

So I plugged my printer back in to the PC.  That was about 3 hours ago.  Then came the deluge.

The printer didn’t work.  It showed up as there, but I couldn’t print to it and the print manager couldn’t communicate with it.  It wouldn’t even read the ink levels.  I uninstalled all the TrendNet software, reinstalled my epson software and drivers numerous times, tried System Restore, and all nothing.  The scanner worked, but the printer part just hung there when I tried to send test pages to it.

I called Trendnet and no help.  I called Epson and no help.  I called TrendNet back and still no help.  I uninstalled, reinstalled, cleaned out the registry, unplugged, replugged, rebooted…I think I even sacrificed a chicken in there somewhere.

Then I turned the printer physically off and back on.  It worked.  Whatever gum was in the gears worked its way out and now, at 11:52 pm, I’m going to bed.

Now that the print server option hasn’t helped, I might try contacting Apple one more time and see if they can’t talk me through the problem.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in Apple vs PC, How To, Microsoft Windows. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

